Skip to content

UGA - FACS - Greece Study Abroad Program : Reviews (Athens)

The following program review responses have been selected for publication by UGA StudyAway
Program Evaluation
Summer 2017 Participant
I believe the orientation prepared me well for what to expect from the course and Greece in general.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Schedule was laid out effectively and clearly. All hotel and transportation information were provided ahead of time. We were always informed of any updates regarding blog assignments.

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
I actually was unable to attend orientation, but I emailed Effie and she made sure I had all the materials necessary to catch up with my classmates. I felt I was well prepared for the information given to us in Greece.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The many meetings we had before the trip was very helpful and the information was relevant and important.

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
We were provided with a plethora of information well in advance of the trip. This made it so easy to prepare and make adjustments to travel plans.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
These materials were very helpful when helping me prepare for the trip. I knew what to expect.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
The orientation sessions were great leading up to the trip. They were very informative.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
All information was provided to us about any medical services needed.

 

Anna Elizabeth Eisenbeis, Maymester 2018 Participant
A student on our trip broke his tooth and was able to schedule a dentist appointment within a few days so I would say good.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
I didn't have any personal experiences with the health care system in Greece, but one of the guys on our trip chipped his tooth, and our program director was super quick to get him to a dentist nearby.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
Someone on the trip chipped a tooth and they got him to a dentist as soon as possible and you could not tell it was chipped when he got back from the dentist! That amazed me!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
One of our classmates chipped a tooth and was able to get it fixed within the week.

 

Kelli Diana Coats, Maymester 2019 Participant
I got sick on the first day of the trip from supposedly drinking the tap water. Effie and Genti immediately found a doctor on campus to help me!

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
There was access to healthcare throughout the trip and the coordinators available to assist in any way they could.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
We were provided with very safe and nice places to stay, as well as buses for any transportation needed by the group. Anything that seemed unsafe was supervised by a professor or tour guide.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
I always felt safe in our locations. Transportation was amazing and always on time for whatever we needed!

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Every location was great! The hotels were amazing and the dorms were lovely. I felt safe the entire trip.

 

Anna Elizabeth Eisenbeis, Maymester 2018 Participant
The buses were very nice

 

Patricia Lee Froistad, Maymester 2018 Participant
Everything concerning facilities, excursions, and transportation were very well organized and made the trip extremely pleasant!

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
I felt very safe everywhere we went and our program directors always made sure to ask us how we were doing and if we needed anything. All of the museum facilities and tours felt safe as well.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
I never felt unsafe the entire time I was on the trip!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
I always felt safe no matter where I was throughout the duration of the program.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
every location was very safe

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
I never felt unsafe while on the trip, even during our free time away from the group. The instructors and tour guides told us the areas to avoid, but overall it was very safe.

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
I felt very safe and comfortable throughout the study abroad. I could tell that a lot of planning and thoughtfulness went into our accommodations.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
I never felt unsafe at any point during the trip. The professors and our tour guides showed us the areas to avoid if we chose to go out on our own.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
I never felt unsafe or in a place that was dangerous.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Workload was perfect and appropriate for a two week span. I learned, was able to keep up with assignments, and was able to enjoy the trip without any stress.

 

Anna Elizabeth Eisenbeis, Maymester 2018 Participant
The amount of lectures each day was good.

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
The lectures on the Greece study abroad trip were very interesting. The speakers did a great job of making sure you understood how and why Greece differed from America in many different areas.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
The lectures were amazing! Almost every one was intriguing and very relevant to my study area. The ones that weren't in my study area were also interesting and different.

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
The program did a good job of combining academic and leisure activities. At times it felt as if we had a lot of lectures, but when you take into account that 3 credit hours are earned for a little over a week then it's easy to see the workload was actually pretty light.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
lectures were great

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The workload is perfect, and the organization is very efficient!

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
I was really able to gain a lot of knowledge on the subjects taught throughout the program. The assignments were fairly appropriate and not complicated to complete.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
I learned so many interesting things during this short trip. We studied a lot about the Greek Finacial crisis, but we also had agriculture, tourism, and even cinematography classes. The work load was very appropriate for the amount of time we were in Greece. I actually really enjoyed writing the reflections afterwards because they will help me remember the trip later in life.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
We had the perfect about of school mixed with fun! I also loves that we could complete everything on elc after the trip.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Excursions, trips, and site visits were amazing! The highlights were the Acropolis and the sunset cruise in Santorini. Every location was breath taking. The trip was coordinated extremely well. I believe that we got an all inclusive and immersive view of Greece.

 

Patricia Lee Froistad, Maymester 2018 Participant
All of the field trips, site visits, and excursions were wonderful!

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
Every site visit was very informative and helpful in learning Greek history and culture.

 

Maymester 2018 Participant
The professors did an incredible job selecting the sites and field trips that we went on. I visits were such a good time and it is the perfect way to talk to individuals on the trip.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
All of the field trips and museums were great! I loved hearing and seeing all of the history of the country while also enjoying the modern day version as well.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
places were wonderful and were a great part of the experience

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
All of the sites were great. It was great to see well-known sites like the Acropolis as well as other places that you might not think to visit.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Amazing and beautiful excursion sites!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Everysite we went to was well thought out and absolutely beautiful! We went everywhere you could want to go in the three cities we went to!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Every excursion was amazing! I wouldn't have done anything differently. The boat ride in Santorini was my favorite.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
Everything was so beautiful!

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Again, I always felt safe and housing was great. The hotel selections were lovely and lavish. The dorms were very well kept and much nicer than anticipated.

 

Anna Elizabeth Eisenbeis, Maymester 2018 Participant
the hotels were extremely nice and the American farm school dorms were nice as well.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
The hotels were excellent and the condition of the dorms in Thessaloniki were great as well.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
Every place we stayed was amazing!!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
The hotels in Athens and Santorini were outstanding. The dorms were nice as well.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The housing was phenomenal. The amenities at the hotel and resort were very nice and the staff was always friendly. It was well worth the price to have the extra amenities from the hotel.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
The meals were excellent! I especially loved that everything was preordered so we could all try new things! Some evenings we were given a choice between two or three entrees making dinner a little more customizable. Overall each meal provided more and more insight to the Greek culture and cuisine. My favorite restaurants had to be "Yeros tou Moria" with the traditional Greek dancers and "Attikos" with an amazing view of the Parthenon! My favorite meal had to be the gyros we had in Oia, Santorini. The food on this trip was unbelievably delicious.

 

Patricia Lee Froistad, Maymester 2018 Participant
All of the meals were EXCELLENT!

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
All of the meals were incredible and every one of them topped my expectation.

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
The food in Greece is spectacular. You are never hungry, and everyone is so willing to share food. The culture, atmosphere, and quality of mealtime in Greece is something I was very impressed with.

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
Compared to my other study abroad trip, the food was absolutely incredible. The amount of food we were given was insane, and it was delicious. The only thing I would say to possibly change is in Thessaloniki, the breakfast at the dorms was not very good, and the bagged lunch was disappointing, but it makes sense given the time constraints. The restaurants were amazing, and if we were told to eat on our own I doubt we would have found places as good as what we ate at.

 

Maymester 2018 Participant
Amazing!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Everything was planned and well managed and organized.

 

Kelli Diana Coats, Maymester 2019 Participant
The meals were amazing everywhere we went.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The food was some of the most amazing food I've ever had. The portions were huge and we were able to try all kinds of authentic Greek foods. It was so nice that most of our meals were planned out for us. It took away some of the stress about not knowing what to order and taking the risk of not enjoying what you ordered. We never went hungry on the trip.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Greece has incredible food!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Every meal was AMAZING! You won't go hungry even for a second on this trip because you are fed so much food and its all insanely high quality!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The food was by far my favorite part of the trip. I got to try so many amazing things! It really helped me learn a lot about the culture.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
All of the food was so so yummy!!

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
We had a cooking class in Thessaloniki to learn more about Greek culture and cuisine. This event proved to be extremely fun. I wish we had more cultural opportunities similar to this one.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
My favorite part about the trip was that we were visiting Effie's home country and where Genti went to graduate school, so they were really familiar with the areas and most importantly the language. It was so fun being able to go to the restaurants they've been to and the areas they've lived near. This factor also made it really easy for us to learn and be immersed into a new culture. On top of this, our tour guide, Oranea was incredible and I know for a fact that everyone on our trip really enjoyed having her show us around. She made us feel very comfortable and was very engaging in all of her tours.

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
We had times to walk around on our own. In Santorini we had a lot of time to do what we wanted, and I was able to interact with a lot of people.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
All the people were very welcoming and friendly!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Eleni, our tour guide, really helped us understand the local culture since she was from Athens.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
I thought Effie did an amazing job at planning the trip. There were rarely any deviations from the schedule she gave us at the beginning.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
Anna was incredible!!!! Highly recommend taking her on the whole trip. She was very welcoming and overly knowledgeable on everything. The UGA professors were incredible in organizing and maintaining the program throughout the whole trip!

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Loved the staff. Effie poured her dedication and time into this program and it showed. Dr. Worthy was equally as great. I enjoyed my time with both of these professors.

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
Effie and Genti did a great job organizing our trip, making sure we were safe, taken care of, and having fun. They were amazing!

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
Amazing job!!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
Effie and Genti did a great job of managing the program. For the most part, we always knew the schedule and what was going on, which made it easy to plan stuff for when we were on our own.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The directors were amazing. They were very helpful, organized, and the program was very well managed.

 

Kelli Diana Coats, Maymester 2019 Participant
Effie and Genti are amazing! I would go on any trip they were in charge of.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The program directors were amazing. They were very organized and helpful.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Our program directors are the best ever! They really care about the students and have so much fun interacting along side us!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The program was managed perfectly! It couldn't have been done any better.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
Our program directors were amazing!

 

Summer 2017 Participant
If anyone ever had a problem or concern, Effie did a great job with handling it.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
We had a girl on our trip who was allergic to gluten and another girl was allergic to shellfish. At every meal and snack break, these ladies were always taken care of. Restaurants knew food allergies in advance and prepared accordingly. Personal needs and concerns were always acknowledged and controlled.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
Our program directors were the best and cared so much for each individual. They were constantly making sure that we were enjoying our time and that our needs were met.

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
They did amazing. I honestly don't know how the program could be improved. The tour guide was amazing.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
Amazing value for the cost. Amazing. Completely worth it.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
I believe that with the FACS scholarship that I received, this program was worth every penny. I feel like we did and ate so much more than we paid for. I also think it's a great amount to attract more students to the program and not too intimidating of a cost.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
I think this was an amazing trip and definitely worth everything spent on it!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
After seeing the hotels and the food, the cost is easily justified. Yes, the cost of the program itself is a little steep, but it was definitely worth it in my opinion.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Worth every penny!

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The experience was well worth the cost. In my opinion, we got more than what we paid for.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
It was so worth the cost!

 

Summer 2017 Participant
I didn't really know what to expect out of the trip, but I enjoyed most everything we did.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
Exceeded all expectations! Food, hotel and learning experiences all incredible.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
This program exceeded my expectations. Greece was an absolute dream. Each excursion, meal, museum visit, and trip exceeded all preconceived notions I had.

 

Patricia Lee Froistad, Maymester 2018 Participant
This program was everything I expected and more! IT was such a wonderful trip packed into a short amount of time and it definitely surpassed all expectations. I would highly recommend this trip!

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
Going into the trip, I wasn't really sure what to expect out of it. I knew I had always wanted to visit Greece, and that I would receive class credit for this program, but that was about it. However, this trip was truly an amazing experience for me. A Maymester is the perfect amount of time for this study abroad program and I feel very satisfied with the amount of time I had in Greece. The food, culture, excursions, lectures, people, and housing were all way better than I thought they would be. I am so glad I chose to go on this study abroad program!

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
This program highly exceeded my expectations in every way!!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
Of course I wish we had more time in Santorini, but this was a study abroad, not a vacation. The program was great.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
10/10! I would do it again!

 

Edith Clara Copeland, Maymester 2019 Participant
This program was wonderful and truly educational- I loved our classes and all our excursions because they all related to what we are studying but gave us a new perspective through Greece.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The program far exceeded my expectations for the trip. They could not have planned a better study abroad program.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Even better than I could have expected!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The trip was so much better than anything I could have anticipated!

 

Summer 2017 Participant
This was a great program. Everyone had so much fun and learned a lot!

 

Maymester 2018 Participant
The entire trip was incredible. The lectures were interesting and relevant, and the excursions provided a full view of the culture and history of Greece.

 

Courtney Marissa Cox, Maymester 2018 Participant
I honestly and truly could not have enjoyed this Study Abroad any more. Effie and Genti were so wonderful to us and were the bets Directors. I enjoyed the places we saw and the museums we visited. Our lectures and lecturers were great as well.

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
The program directors were amazing and I knew we were in great hands the entire time. They were so helpful and treated us like their own children!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
Great program.

 

Edith Clara Copeland, Maymester 2019 Participant
Effie and Genti were so kind and fun to be around they truly made us feel at home and welcome- they are the best!!!!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
This trip overall was amazing, the country of Greece was incredible, and our program directors couldn't have been better! I loved it all.

 

Courtney Marissa Cox, Maymester 2018 Participant
I would give students on this trip a little bit more time in Santorini and a scheduled trip to Oia. This place was incredible and I would have loved for our entire group to go together. Overall, this trip was life-changing for me and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

 

Patricia Lee Froistad, Maymester 2018 Participant
For future participants, I would highly recommend traveling before or after the trip because due to the fact that the trip is only 10 days long, there is not a significant amount of free time.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
This program was very well managed and organized. Everything was planned, thought-out, and ready for us. It was a great trip, and I would highly recommend to anyone considering.

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
Don't be afraid to try the food. Some of it may seem weird or just be totally different from anything in the U.S., but it is worth it to try new things. Everything was so good and even picky eaters liked most of the food we had.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
Do this study abroad! I found it to be the perfect amount of time abroad and learned so much about being in another culture. Greece is amazing and I loved every bit of the trip in Athens, Santorini, and Thessaloniki.

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
Go into the trip with an open mind and seize every opportunity to try something new.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
I honestly wouldn't change anything.

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
Be open to all of the experiences and be willing to try new things! Trust me, it will be so worth it!

 

Summer 2017 Participant
The Greek Economic Crisis is fascinating to learn about, and you really get to experience everything you are learning.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
This was a wonderful experience that provided first hand knowledge into the Greek economy and culture.

 

Summer 2017 Participant
Greece study abroad was a once in a life time experience that words and pictures will never describe!

 

Summer 2017 Participant
Overall, amazing experience that I wish I could do all over again!

 

Emily Marie Reynolds, Summer 2017 Participant
This program is more than just another study abroad program; its having the opportunity to visit three differently unique cities in one of the most beautiful places in the world while becoming immersed in the lively and fast paced culture. The cultural visits, museums and lectures give you a insight into the amazing history that the Greek people pride themselves on. Having the opportunity to hear first hand, from Greek professors and academics, how the financial crisis effected them personally as well as their country, was incredible. I never thought that in two short weeks, I would learn and experience so much while falling in love with a country and its culture as much as I did on this trip. This is a trip that I will never forget and I am so grateful I had the opportunity to attend. I encourage anyone, even remotely interested, to go because you won't find a trip as unique and authentic as this one.

 

Victoria Elizabeth Santini, Summer 2017 Participant
This program exceeded my expectations. Greece was an absolute dream. Each excursion, meal, museum visit, and trip exceeded my expectations. If you can, take this study tour opportunity!

 

Maymester 2018 Participant
It's the same sun here as they have over there, but there's just something about the Santorini sunset that truly took my breath away.

 

Courtney Marissa Cox, Maymester 2018 Participant
This study abroad experience opened my eyes and mind to the beauty of Greece's country and culture. I am forever grateful for this incredible program!

 

Anna Elizabeth Eisenbeis, Maymester 2018 Participant
This was one of the best trips I have ever been on. I alway hear people saying how their one regret about college was not studying abroad. If you sign up for this program you will not regret it. I also made so many best friends in such a short amount of time.

 

Ka Eun Jin, Maymester 2018 Participant
The FACS Study Abroad to Greece was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience! Not only did we have the opportunity to learn in a different country, we were immersed right in the middle of the culture and got to see so many different sights and beauties of Greece. Every activity that we did exceeded my expectations. This program is only 12 days long, but I learned so much more than I thought I would through all of the tours and activities we partook in every single day. The program directors are the absolute best, and I couldn't have asked for anyone better to lead the trip.

 

Cassidy Carlese Long, Maymester 2018 Participant
I am so glad I decided to go on this trip. I believe that in comparison to its price, this program is well worth it! The people, culture, and food I experienced while on this trip were amazing. I made many great friends, ate delicious food, toured historical sites and cities, and learned more than I ever thought I would have. If you have the chance to go on this trip, do it!

 

Hollie Rose Mitchell, Maymester 2018 Participant
This study abroad was one of the best decisions I have ever made! From the history-rich Athens to the beautiful Santorini, I was in awe the entire trip. I cannot believe I had such an amazing opportunity to learn and see so much in and outside of the classroom in less than two weeks. I would go again in a heartbeat!

 

Kameron Kamlesh Patel, Maymester 2018 Participant
"Opa".

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
"Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world." -Gustav Flaubert
"Better to see something once than hear about it a thousand times"

 

Kelli Diana Coats, Maymester 2019 Participant
I had pretty high expectations for this trip and they were exceeded! Effie and Genti went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time, were able to learn in an appropriate environment, and always felt safe! I would go back in a heart beat if I could.

 

Edith Clara Copeland, Maymester 2019 Participant
This trip allowed me study my passion but in a new environment that I really enjoyed- the faculty, locations, and learning were exceptional and I would recommend it to everyone!

 

Sarah Elizabeth Cowart, Maymester 2019 Participant
The experience I had in Greece through this program far exceeded my expectations. The food, people, and culture was amazing and worth every penny. I wouldn't trade this experience for anything, and I would do it all over again if I could!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
It really doesn't get much better than experiencing another Athens.

 

Rashawn K Merchant, Maymester 2019 Participant
This is definitely a trip that I would highly recommend to anyone. The academic aspect was really beneficial and my time in Greece is something I'll never forget.

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
This was the best study abroad for anyone who has a busy summer, but wants to have a shorter study abroad. Everyone still got so close on the trip, I feel like a learned so much in the time we were there, and we did everything you could want to do in Athens, Santorini, and Thessaloniki! The Professors are the best too!

 

Maymester 2019 Participant
The study away trip to Greece was hands down the best experience of my life thus far. We got to visit three beautiful cities and learn so much bout the history and culture in short amount of time. This trip created memories and friendships that will last a lifetime!

 

Katherine Louise Wise, Maymester 2019 Participant
This trip was absolutely amazing! The time we had in Greece was unforgettable and the memories we made will stay with me forever!